Anish Kapoor and distorted perception

2011/08/20 § 1 Comment

I’ve fallen in love with this man’s work over the years.  His sculptures reveal themselves as monoliths out of scale, out of this reality.  The mirrored series, such as the famous bean at Millenium Park distort the people around them, distort the site in its gravitational pull.  I see the Leviathan project as “super” balls of my childhood, growing within the Palais as if almost enough to escape, but forced to retreat a bit in its tension with its host space.  I guess that’s the point – The fantastical as normal.  It inspires me as an architect and as a thinker.  I’ve posted my favorites here, so that I could look at them in one place for my own shits and giggles, but also hopefully for yours.



§ One Response to Anish Kapoor and distorted perception

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Anish Kapoor and distorted perception at PROJECTIONS.

meta

